Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Dot Guests: 32
Dot Hidden: 0
Dot Users Online:
6 How to make loading zones... default_avatar

Replies LONEWOLFJE

15 Choys Games Down? FUBAR!!

Replies FUBAR!!

0 How to make loading zones... Insect

Replies Insect

0 Raytracing in unreal engi... FUBAR!!

Replies FUBAR!!

5 {YFW} Vincent Kane RIP Bigman

Replies Bigman

Author Topic: Can anybody let me pick their brains?  (Read 18937 times)

MisterTom

• Rampage!
    • View Profile
Can anybody let me pick their brains?
« on: January 02, 2013, 01:29:09 PM »
Hi folks, I've been lurking around these forums for a couple of weeks and decided to register as I need a bit of help :)

I'll give you a little outline so you know where I'm at.  I'm mainly a visual designer though just as a hobby these days, I used to work professionally as a graphic/web designer, and have picked up a little 3D knowledge over the years too, I dare say I'm not the best, but I know my way around many of the mainstream applications like Max/Zbrush etc.

Anyway, I still have a love of all things graphics , and recently 3D graphics and game engines.  I started messing around with the UDK a few weeks ago, and I have to admit I'm blown away by it - the handling of materials, bump mapping etc, the native support for Bink video as a texture, scaleform (Adobe Flash movies as textures or in game UI's) the global illumination lighting system, shaders and particles are all particularly fantastic.

So I created a little map as a learning process and while it looked beautiful as my player looked up at the sunlight twinkling through the animated leaves of my custom tree model, and simulated cloth curtains flapped gently in the digital breeze,  I realised it was a little boring running around looking at stuff.